Is there a way to delete/hide users?
We often end up creating test accounts in our internal team, and due to our SSO, they end up being created as users on the forum too.
Sometimes our customers think those test accounts are our real accounts and so start tagging them.
Is there a way for us to delete those test accounts in the forum, or at least hide their handles so they can't be tagged?
- 4 replies
- CChristian Scheuer @chrscheuer
The ideal for us I believe would be if there was a way to deactivate a handle so it can't be tagged.
Deactivating a handle — would the user still be able to log in? (Don't know if you'd like to log in as those test users?)
Maybe those users should be excluded from an all-users list? — That'd make them in effect "invisible"? (unless they reply to other people's topics)
I have in mind to add "invisible" users and groups:
Just like some categories are visible, only for members of certain groups,
some groups and users can then also be optionally "invisible", unless one is a member of a group that can see them.
- In reply tochrscheuer⬆:
You can delete a user, by going to his/her user profile page, then clicking Preferences | Account, scroll down to Danger Zone and click Delete account. Then the username gets changed to
anon12345or something like that and any name and email address etc gets erased. Any posts by that user are not deleted. That user will be unable to log in again.
Here's the URL path to the Preferences | Account page:
/-/users/ username /preferences/account.
Hmm, thinking about invisible users (the sibling sub thread here), maybe such deleted users should be invisible (so ordinary members didn't see deleted
anon12345accounts in users lists).
(Here's an a little bit, related sub thread about invisible users:
Why does TalkYard's robot.txt exclude user profile pages? #post-5 )